Dallas County Central Appraisal District

Mailing Address:
2949 North Stemmons Frwy
Dallas, Texas 75247
Physical Address:
2949 North Stemmons Frwy
Dallas, Texas 75247
(214) 631-0910
(214) 631-0520

Hours of Operation
Monday – Thursday    7:30 AM to 5:30 PM
Friday     7:30 AM to 5:00 PM

Dallas Central Appraisal District is a political subdivision of the State of Texas and is responsible for appraising property for the purpose of ad valorem property tax assessment on behalf of the 61 local governing bodies in Dallas County. Dallas CAD is responsible for creating and maintaining all real and business personal property values. The main source of law guidance is the Texas Property Tax Code for the Texas property tax system.

Currently the Dallas Central Appraisal District appraises property in all of Dallas County. The county covers an area of approximately 900 square miles which includes almost 813,000 tax accounts.

The following cities and towns are serviced by the Dallas Central Appraisal District:
Dallas, Addison, Balch Springs, Cedar Hill, Cockrell Hill, Combine, Coppell, DeSoto, Duncanville, Farmers Branch, Ferris, Flower Mound, Glenn Heights, Grand Prairie, Highland Park, Hutchins, Irving, Lancaster, Lewisville, Mesquite, Ovilla, Richardson, Rowlett, Seagoville, Sunnyvale, University Park, Wilmer and Wylie. The appraisal district values properties for all tax entities in the county. Each tax entity utilizes the assessed values established by the central appraisal district. Prior to the current system of one central appraisal district, each tax entity established its own values for property taxes.

The Appraisal District is governed by a board of directors which represent the 61 governments of Dallas County.  The Board appoints an Executive Director/Chief Appraiser who is responsible for the daily operation of the district.

Appraisal District Board of Directors:

David Childs
Jerome Garza
Jerry O. Jones
Margaret Keliher
Bill Vandivort, II
R. Scott Wheeler

Chief Appraiser:
Ken Nolan

In accordance with the Texas Property Tax Code, the Dallas County Appraisal District Board of Directors has appointed members of the Appraisal Review Board (ARB). The appraisal review board (ARB) is the lawful part of the system and its members may serve two-year terms and are permitted to serve a maximum of three terms. The ARB is a separate body from the appraisal office and serves a different function. It hears and resolves disputes over appraisal matters. This is a very broad and important responsibility, but the ARB must be sensitive to its legal and practical limits.