Bexar County Appraisal District

Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 830248
San Antonio, TX 78283
Physical Address:
411 North Frio
San Antonio, TX 78207
(210) 224-8511
(210) 224-2432 (cust. svc)
(512) 835-5371 (fax)

Hours of Operation
Monday – Friday   8:00 AM – 5:00 PM

Bexar County Appraisal District is a political subdivision of the State of Texas and is responsible for establishing and maintaining accurate property values for all real and business personal property.  The Bexar County Appraisal District follows the principle of checks and balances and appraises property according to the Texas Property Tax Code and the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practices (USPAP).

The following cities and towns are serviced by the Bexar County Appraisal District:
San Antonio, Alamo Heights, Balcones Heights, Castle Hills, China Grove, Cibolo, Converse, Cross Mountain, Elmendorf, Fair Oaks Ranch, Grey Forest, Helotes, Hill Country Village, Hollywood Park, Kirby, Leon Valley, Live Oak, Olmos Park, Scenic Oaks, Schertz, Selma, Shavano Park, Somerset, St. Hedwig, Terrell Hills, Timberwood Park, Universal City, Windcrest and a number of other tax entities.

The Appraisal District is governed by a board of directors appointed by the taxing entities participating in the Appraisal District.

Appraisal District Board of Directors:

James McAden (Chairman)
Aaron Valenzuela (Vice-Chairman)
Helen Dutmer (Secretary)
Keith Hughey
Santos Villarreal
Sylvia S. Romo, CPA, RTA

The Appraisal District Board of Directors Role, in the Property Tax System, is to hire the chief appraiser, set the budget, and appoint the appraisal review board members. The board of directors has no authority when it comes to setting the values or any being involved in any of the appraisal methods utilized by the chief appraiser. The chief appraiser?s responsibility is to carry out the appraisal district?s legal duties, hire staff members, property appraisals, and manage the appraisal office.

Chief Appraiser:
Michael Amezquita

In accordance with the Texas Property Tax Code, the Bexar Appraisal District Board of Directors has appointed a 50-member Appraisal Review Board (ARB). The appraisal review board (ARB) is the lawful part of the system and its members may serve two-year terms and are permitted to serve a maximum of three terms. The ARB is a separate body from the appraisal office and serves a different function. It hears and resolves disputes over appraisal matters. This is a very broad and important responsibility, but the ARB must be sensitive to its legal and practical limits.