Denton County Appraisal District

Mailing Address:
3911 Morse
Denton, TX  76208
Physical Address:
3911 Morse
Denton, TX  76208
(940) 349-3800
(940) 349-3801 (fax)

Hours of Operation
Monday – Friday   8:00 AM – 5:00 PM

Denton Central County Appraisal District is a political subdivision of the State of Texas and is responsible for establishing and maintaining accurate property values for all real and business personal property.

The mission of the Denton Central Appraisal District is to appraise property for property taxation and maintain 100% of market value, allowing local funding for the school districts and ensuring that appraisals are performed in an equal and uniform manner in order that taxpayers pay only their fair share of the property tax burden.

The following cities and towns are serviced by the Denton Central Appraisal District:
Argyle, Aubrey, Bartonville, portions of Carrollton, Copper Canyon, Corinth, Corral City, Cross Roads, portions of Dallas, Denton, DISH, Double Oak, Flower Mound, portions of Fort Worth and Frisco, Hackberry, Haslet, Hebron, Hickory Creek, Highland Village, Justin, Krugerville, Krum, Lake Dallas, Lakewood Village, Lewisville, Lincoln Park, Little Elm, Marshall Creek, Northlake, Oak Point, Pilot Point, portions of Plano, Ponder, Roanoke, Sanger, Shady Shores, Southlake, The Colony, Trophy Club and portions of Westlake.

All tax entities in the county have their property valued by the appraisal district.  The central appraisal district establishes the assessed values and each tax entity utilizes the values. Each tax entity used to establish it own values for each property tax, now the central appraisal district is responsible for the values.The Appraisal District is governed by a board of directors appointed by the taxing entities participating in the Appraisal District. The board has five voting members, however if the county Tax Assessor/Collector is not appointed by the entities as a voting member of the board, he or she automatically serves as a non-voting board member.

Appraisal District Board of Directors:

Rick Woolfolk (Member)
Lee Baker (Member)
Doug Killough (Chairman)
Charles Stafford (Member)
Pearl Ford (Secretary)
Steve Mossman (Vice Chairman)

The Appraisal District Board of Directors Role, in the Property Tax System, is to hire the chief appraiser, set the budget, and appoint the appraisal review board members.  The board of directors has no authority when it comes to setting the values or any being involved in any of the appraisal methods utilized by the chief appraiser.  The chief appraiser’s responsibility is to carry out the appraisal district’s legal duties, hire staff members, property appraisals, and manage the appraisal office.

Chief Appraiser:
Joe Rogers

In accordance with the Texas Property Tax Code, the Dallas County Appraisal District Board of Directors has appointed members of the Appraisal Review Board (ARB). The appraisal review board (ARB) is the lawful part of the system and its members may serve two-year terms and are permitted to serve a maximum of three terms. The ARB is a separate body from the appraisal office and serves a different function. It hears and resolves disputes over appraisal matters. This is a very broad and important responsibility, but the ARB must be sensitive to its legal and practical limits.